Poems I Simply Just Like

on May 2, 2007

I came across a small book I purchased about 15 years ago. It’s by Judith Viorst who wrote one of my favorite children’s books, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. As I reread If I Were In Charge of the World and Other Worries, I remembered why I liked it so much. Here are a few I adore:

Bertha’s Wish
I wish that I didn’t have freckles on my face
I wish that my stomach went in instead of out.
I wish that he would stand on top of the tallest building and shout,
“I love you, Amanda.”

One more wish: I wish my name was Amanda.

Mending
A giant hand inside my chest
Stretches out and takes
My heart within its mighty grasp
And squeezes till it breaks.

A gentle hand inside my chest,
With mending tape and glue,
Patches up my heart until
It’s almost good as new.

I ought to know by now that
Broken hearts will heal again,.
But while I wait for glue and tape,
The pain!
The pain!
The pain!

Wicked Thoughts
The meanest girl! I’ve ever met
Is Mary Ellen Wright,
And if a lion came along and
Ate her with one bite,
I’d cry and cry and cry and cry.
(But just to be polite).

2 responses to “Poems I Simply Just Like

  1. goty says:

    how is this by?

    • DeAnn says:

      It’s by Judith Viorst who wrote one of my favorite children’s books, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. As I reread If I Were In Charge of the World and Other Worries

Leave a Reply

