Living Up to My Potential

on May 20, 2007

060328rainbow1.jpgTonight I was thinking how my life would be different if each day I lived up to my potential. I’m not saying that there wouldn’t be days when I said to myself “hmmm today I think I won’t live up to my potential and I think I’ll sleep in – won’t make my bed – and may skip the gym” I’m not saying that on occasion that is bad – but what if on most days I did the things that turned me in to the person I want to be? And why don’t I do those things consistently? I think I’ve made a hobby of the struggle.

I keep seeing this vision of myself having achieved my goals – the goals that I have been chasing for so long and the attainment of them has been as elusive as the pot ‘o gold at the end of a rainbow.

I actually saw the end of the rainbow once. Truly – it landed right in the middle of a wet field outside of Kamas. No gold! Is that what keeps holding me back – the fear that I’ll find the end and the damn gold won’t be there? I do remember, however, that seeing that rainbow that ended on the damp field just after a storm was one of the most beautiful things I have ever witnessed. I have to keep reminding myself that it’s okay to “go for the gold” but if it’s not there – enjoy the beauty of what is.

One response to “Living Up to My Potential

  1. Tiffany says:

    I love your insight. I have so many of the same questions with myself. I love the image of the rainbow ending in an empty field. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

