I’ve Arrived

on June 5, 2007

With the construction/destruction of downtown it was inevitable that our offices would need to move. Our first clue was when the drawings appeared in the newspaper of the “new and improved” downtown, the building in which resided was not there.

A few months ago I learned that the majority of the Corporate Offices of Deseret Book was to remain downtown but my department was moving to the Distribution Center (aka “The Warehouse.) I wasn’t sure how I felt about it – but knew immediately that I wasn’t being consulted on our move as much as being informed about our move. I was assured they would build us a delightful place for our department to operate. So immediately I consigned myself to adjust to new ways of doing things and not think about missing the daily contact I had with some of my friends in other departments. I also decided that I would concentrate on the benefits. So I began dreaming of a shorter commute, free parking, and wearing jeans to work every day if I wanted. I won’t even mention how close I am to that evil discount store that sucks away my money on weird things that I just “may need some day”.

Well the time finally came that we moved. Last week we walked into our new stomping grounds and started setting up shop. There was one aspect of the move I had been a bit unsettled about still – the fact that I would actually have an office. I just seemed so – well – weird.

I dragged my first boxes into my new office and had a strange experience. It was like a scene from Steve Martins film “The Jerk” (yes – the edited version that I saw on regular TV)

Navin R. Johnson: The new phone book’s here! The new phone book’s here!
Harry Hartounian: Boy, I wish I could get that excited about nothing.
Navin R. Johnson: Nothing? Are you kidding? Page 73 – Johnson, Navin R.! I’m somebody now! Millions of people look at this book everyday! This is the kind of spontaneous publicity – your name in print – that makes people. I’m in print! Things are going to start happening to me now.

Just like Navin I suddenly and unexpectedly felt like I had finally arrived! I have an office and I love having an office. I love that it’s quiet when I walk in and I can actually think for a minute for the day starts. I love that it’s my space and I decorated it the way I wanted. I love that it’s new and still smells like fresh paint and fresh carpet chemicals. I love that I have a window to the outside. My view is the parking lot and the AFA warehouse but I don’t care! I love that someone can come in to my office and sit down and talk to me – important or unimportant without commotion and constant interruptions. I love that I have my own bookshelves and that I have books relevant to my profession to put on them. I love that my door is open and that the people I work with will walk right in. There are things that I may not like about having an office – like that I feel just a little disconnected from the group and I won’t hear and be part of the office jokes and banter. But I will think about that another day.


3 responses to “I’ve Arrived

  1. Tiffany says:

    Congratulations on a big move! And no wonder we’re friends–that scene from The Jerk is an absolute favorite. Ryan acts it out every time the new phone book arrives!

  2. Laurel says:

    I LOVE that you finally have such a WELL DESERVED office space. And I love knowing that it will be there whenever I need to take a break from corporate and come and vent to you.

  3. Erin says:

    Yea! I am so happy for you. You totally deserve an office and I hope you are very very happy there.

    Miss you!

Leave a comment