Random Thoughts

on June 12, 2007
  • I love when I finally find a book that I can’t put down. Where the story is so intriguing that I just have to keep reading. Right now I am reading Magic Street by Orson Scott Card. Not his greatest novel (My favorite of his is Lost Boys.) This is a story that is set in real time, real world, but also surreal. So I’m right in the middle of this book which I’ve dubbed my “gym book” (meaning that I have to be at the gym riding the bike or on the elliptical to read it – I get a good work out in too,) and I get on my desk today 2 DB advanced reading copies for upcoming books from 2 authors I really really like (Jason Wright and Brandon Mull.) I’m so tempted to put down Magic Street to read one of these. I’m not going to though. I shall be disciplined and I may have to spend a little longer on the bike at the gym or cheat and read in my bed at night. Now – you may wonder why I don’t have one book at the gym and start the other at home? Because I already have done that and so I already am in the middle of several other books. They just don’t have the “hook” in me. I’m looking forward to these other 2 and I’ll be sad if I have 2 books with their hook in me at the same time and then am done and have just average books. Sigh!
  • Okay do some days you just sit back and think “dude! I have cool friends!”?? Okay maybe you don’t say those exact words. But seriously how cool is it when you can’t see one thing good about yourself – you have friends who do! And you know your friends are amazing people so they couldn’t be lying! Today I’m just feeling bless-ed! I only hope that I can give back to them when they are feeling poopy!
  • Have I mentioned lately that I am addicted to my acrylic nails? Seriously I love them. I never thought I would. When I was in my 20’s I tried some “press on nails” for Halloween and had a tragic tampon accident with them that nearly scarred me (literally) for life. So I vowed fake nails were definitely not for me. I shall testify that acrylic nails are NOT the same as Lee Press-On Nails. I love getting my nails done. I love watching the nice cigarette- addicted Vietnamese man at Kim’s Salon do my nail with such precision, ease, and expertise. I love how sturdy they are. I love how pretty they make my hands look and how feminine they make me feel.
One response to “Random Thoughts

  1. Tiffany says:

    Your nails are gorgeous. And yes, I often sit around and think about my incredible friends–yourself included!

Leave a Reply

