Why I Like My Job

on December 22, 2007

If you work in retail or customer service, lets face it — Christmas isn’t always so merry. In fact sometimes it’s down right crappy. Earlier this week I had to do something that I knew would bring is a slew of angry email and phone calls. I had to notify customers of delays with their orders and that they wouldn’t be arriving for Christmas. I sent out about 1300 emails and letters. I warned the staff so they would be prepared to deal with customer’s disappointments and braced myself for the flurry of angry email.

The day after sending the emails I got a delightful response from a customer who had been told her book 21 Days Closer to Christ was delayed. This is what she wrote:

I thank you for advising me of the delay on this order. This is not a problem…how wonderful there are so many interested in building their relationship with Christ.

Merry Christmas to you and yours.

E.

One of my pet peeves working in customer service is that the grumpy and mean customers usually get the benefits as we apologize and grovel. But I loved this customer for being so nice. I decided that I was going to send her a gift just for being so sweet during a really stressful time of year. I tried to think about what book or CD would be good to send.  Then I had the thought to send a beautiful calendar that has pictures of the Savior, because truly she responded to disappointment in such a Christ-like way. So I placed the order and sent her the following message:

Your response just makes me smile. Sometimes working in customer service at Christmas time is stressful and we always hate to give disappointing news. Your positive remarks just made my day. It seems that all too often the ones who complain the loudest sometimes end up getting more benefits and I want to make sure someone with your kindness gets a little extra blessing. I’m sending you the Simon Dewey Pure in Heart Calendar with the pictures of the Savior just as a gift to say thank you for making my job just a little better this week.

Have a blessed Christmas and thanks again.

This morning as I came in to work I saw this response from my new favorite customer:

Last night I was getting ready to place another order, for I realized I did not purchase my calendar. It has become tradition each year that I buy a Simon Dewey calendar with pictures of Christ…it is a huge blessing to have reminder that each day is a gift because of our Savior. As I was scrolling I had this feeling overcome me to just wait…not understanding the reason, I surprisingly listened : ). Then I opened this email…you made my day as I did yours. It truly is the simple acts of others that remind us how much our Heavenly Father cares ~ we never know when He is going to use us to brighten the day for another.

E.

So even though I’ve said a few too many “bible words” this week and a few more “bah humbugs” I do love Christmas! I love my job! And mostly I love the Lord for showing me that miracles happen – even little ones — and that there are people out there that follow the Savior no matter what time of year it is.

5 responses to “Why I Like My Job

  1. Tiffany says:

    What a great story! I love hearing the good Christmas retail stories like this! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Laurel says:

    I love that you found a kindred spirit who is just as Christ-like as YOU are.

  3. Hollers says:

    I love, love, love you De. Guess who’s teaching about love tonight?

  4. Erin says:

    That is the best story! I love that you not only thought to send her something, but you acted on that thought and did it.

  5. mistermidnight says:

    Cool story!

Leave a Reply

