Real Chicken Soup for the Soul

on January 8, 2008

I didn’t go to work today. Yup – I stayed home sick. I don’t have a life threatening illness, I just have a cold and I didn’t feel all that great. Usually I would go to work anyway sick or not –  but coming off the long holiday season I decided that today I was going to stay home with my germs and disgusting nasal noises and cough.

This afternoon as I was awaking from my cough syrup induced nap I got a call from a good friend of mine in the ward. She noticed that my car was in the drive way when she drove past earlier.  And because my car is never in the driveway before 7 or 8 at night she called to see if everything was okay. We had a short chat and I informed her I just had a cold and that I was simply being a slug and sleeping it off. As I hung up I made a mental note to be more like her and be more thoughtful then I drifted back to sleep.

At 9:00 tonight I got another call from my friend and she asked if I was still up so she could stop by. I was still awake, thanks to my afternoon of napping.

She came right over and I let her in I saw she was holding a grocery sack. Then she told me why she was there.

This afternoon when she called me, her daughters overheard her talking to me and realized I was sick.  After she hung up, her oldest quickly said “mom, we have to make her some soup.” Now this is a mother of 5 daughters ranging from an infant to an 11 year old. The last thing she had time to do was make soup for someone who had a cough and snotty nose. She told her daughter that she didn’t have the ingredients to make soup. Her daughter was not to be deterred in her charity and went to the cupboard and got out a can of Progresso Chicken Noodle Soup. Another daughter decided I couldn’t have soup with out crackers. The other 2 daughters wanted to contribute too. So now here stood my friend with a bag containing a can of soup, a package of crackers, an orange, and a baggie with cookies in it. Her daughters had prepared a meal for me because I was sick.

Tomorrow I will be back at work but I can hardly wait for lunch because I already know what I will be having – a delicious meal prepared by 4 little girls.
Tonight before I settle in for my codeine induced sleep I will say a special “thank you” to Heavenly Father for 4 little girls and a mother who went on their errand to deliver love in a plastic grocery sack to me.

One response to “Real Chicken Soup for the Soul

  1. Laurel says:

    I love people who make soup.
    I love this story. THAT is chicken soup for the soul for me too!

Leave a Reply

