Random Thoughts

on January 27, 2008

I have been “sugar free” for 26 days. No refined sugar have passed my lips. Sometimes it’s been hard but has gotten easier. I planned on having no sugar through January but now I’m worried about what happens in February. I don’t want to just turn around and binge because I really have felt better. I think I will plan to have sugar once a week. I do have to say in all humility that I am quite proud of myself for doing this.

Sometimes I think I’m blog impaired and that I’ve lost my funniness.

Last Sunday night I stayed up all night with my nieces. One had a sleep test the next day and had to be sleep deprived. We played games, baked, and when it turned Midnight we went to the store. Everything was hilarious at 2:30 a.m. but by 4:30 hit everything wasn’t quite as funny.

One of my other nieces left for her mission this week. It made me think of how much my nieces have grown to be my friends and that they have and are transitioning into incredible women. Not only that – they love me unconditionally and think I’m cool even when I dont’ deserve it.

I took two days off of work this week for my “mental health”. I decided I could like being independently wealthy and not have to work.

I’m glad I had the opportunities to date last year. I would love to go out more and am open to set ups – but meeting men online still scares me. Plus I hate the thought of paying money for rejection.

I have got to get my finances in order this year.

Sometimes I think Orson Scott Card was prophetic in the book Enders Game when it comes to technology. Also now that we have GPS’s I think that the Liahona in the Book of Mormon makes much more sense.

I discovered Shelfari and I love it.

I just read the book Left to Tell by Immaculee Ilibagiza and it was incredible.

OCD sucks! I’m not talking about “I keep all the pencils on my desk straight” or “I checked to see if my iron was off 3 times” OCD that people use now in casual conversation – I’m talking real OCD that most days is a low buzz but sometimes it rears it’s ugly head in full force.

Sometimes when I am watching older shows on TV I wonder why the characters just don’t use their cell phones instead of looking for pay phones or waiting in a broken down car for a nice policeman while the bad guy is just a few feet away. I also wonder where Superman now changes his clothes now that phone boothes are basically obsolete.

2 responses to “Random Thoughts

  1. Erin says:

    Yea for no sugar in Jan!!! What an amazing feat. Don’t you feel like if you can do that, you can do anything?!?

  2. Shannon says:

    I was just thinking the same thing about Ender’s Game and Orson Scott Card. He describes blogging with extreme accuracy–in a book he wrote in 1985! It’s borderline creepy!

    ~a former fellow WBWG members

Leave a Reply

