Did It Take the Pioneers This Long?

on May 15, 2008

On December 30, 2002 I joined Weight Watchers online. I had been thinking about it for a long long time. I was severely overweight with Sleep Apnea, High Cholesterol, High Triglycerides, and Insulin Resistance. My father died at 59 of a heart attack and also was diabetic. I knew that I was a heart attack waiting to happen. I won’t write the social, emotional, and spiritual difficulties of being that overweight, let’s just say those pains are worse than the physical ones. Also when you over 100 pounds to lose it feels impossible. So on that Eve of New Years Eve I sat at the computer in the den at my house contemplating putting in my credit card number to join. I wondered how this attempt would be any different than the other twenty-bajillion attempts I have made in the last few years. But I knew it had to be different and I vowed right there that no matter how long it took, and no matter how many setbacks I had, that I would not give up. So — I put in my credit card number and began the journey.

This journey I’m on has been long — much longer than I ever anticipated. There have been ups and down, setback, recommits, 2 steps back, one step forward, tears, hot fudge, and more recommits along this road. So basically I’m saying – this challenge has been #$%# hard!

This morning I went to my Weight Watchers meeting (I go to meetings and still use the online tools) and then came back to record my weight online. When I did record my weight, the following icon appeared:

I have officially lost 75 pounds!!

Yes it has taken me years to do!

No this isn’t the end!

Yes this is me today at work!

4 responses to “Did It Take the Pioneers This Long?

  1. Laurel says:

    I am SO UNBELIEVABLY RIDICULOUSLY proud of you!!!
    And I”m also determined NOT to be left in your dust.
    You are AMAZING and I’m so inspired by you!!
    love yer guts (all 75 pounds less of them!)

  2. Hollers says:

    I AM SO FREAKING PROUD OF YOU, DEANN!! That’s amazing! And I knew you could do it! And you know what’s even better? You’re losing spiritual weight too–the stuff that’s been dragging you down. You’re beautiful on the outside, AND on the inside. I love you!!

  3. Larrie says:

    Hooray! Hooray! Hooray for you! I can only imagine the joy of having that 75 pop up. Good for you. I’m inspired. AND you’re closer to the big trip to Jeff City too. Can’t wait for that. So glad we’re friends. Love ya!

  4. Erin says:

    Okay, I know I am late but WOOOO HOOOO!

    You are an inspiration. I love you!

Leave a Reply

