I Can Do Hard Things

on May 17, 2008

Today I did something that 5 years ago I wouldn’t have dreamed I’d do again. Run in a race! I ran a 5-K. What I actually did was more of a “chug”, as my nephew Joseph would say.

A few weeks ago my friend Laurel suggested that we run a 5-K. I really wanted to do it although I was very nervous. I haven’t run in a race since I was on the track team in high school. That was 20+ years ago and I didn’t have the extra baggage on my hips then. I had actually written a goal in my day planner a couple years ago to run a race again. It has stayed there in my planner unfulfilled for a long time. With Laurels determination to do a race, I had to believe that I could do it too. Laurel is the kind of person you want to keep around, because she is pure inspiration to keep going when it comes to hard things.

I think I was as prepared as I could be for the shape I’m in. I drank a lot of water yesterday and have worked out every day this week (except yesterday.) I had done some running outside in the last few weeks, which has a totally different feel than the treadmill.

The race was at 8:00 this morning. I was a little nervous until I got there and saw that there were men, women, and children of all shapes and sizes. I liked this a lot. My only strategy was to keep jogging (no matter how slow,) to finish, and to not finish last. I hadn’t done a race in so long I didn’t even think about what kind of time I wanted to finish in.

The course was beautiful although I could have done without the hills. Still I kept going. Laurel and I got separated along the course – at first I felt bad about it but I think it was good for both of us. We each had something different to learn along the way.

What I learned today is that the Lord sends incredible people into our lives. They support us, cheer us, and at times run with us. But ultimately we run our own race in life. Each race is different, but the great thing is – if we keep running, no matter the speed we’ll be with the people we care about at the finish line.

6 responses to “I Can Do Hard Things

  1. Laurel says:

    I am still so very proud of you. You are amazing. You are amazing. Thanks for being MY inspiration today.

  2. Natalie says:

    I so wish I could have done this with you both. I am so very proud of you though!!!

  3. Larrie says:

    So fun to see the picture of you two together. I love that! Congrats on a race well run. Track team? I had no idea. Just another of your accomplishments wautubg to be discovered. I love to keep learning about my friend DeAnn.

  4. Larrie says:

    RE: My last comment–not really sure how “waiting” became “wautubg.” Not sure at all:-)

  5. Beth says:

    Popped over from Laurel’s site after hearing about the race and just had to say… good for you.

  6. Heather says:

    I’m so proud of you DeAnn! Maybe I will be able to run with you in the future.

Leave a Reply

