And I Thought I Had “Issues”!

on July 15, 2008

For several days now – well actually lets say a couple weeks – I’ve been feeling a sense of kinship with a “Certain Woman” as told about in the scriptures (Mark 5:25-34.)  “Certain Woman” had issues.  I shall be careful not to criticize the scriptures, but it was clearly written by a man because men don’t like to talk about “women stuff”.  So the writer of Mark delicately says in one short verse “And a certain woman, which had an issue of blood twelve years . . .”  What I probably would have said (thank goodness I don’t write scripture) is this:  “Listen up folks — I have been on my period for 12 years!!!!!!  Yes 12 long, cramping, PMSing, messy, oy-no chocolate in Jerusalem, years!!  Did you get that?  12 YEARS?!?!”

The reason I have come to appreciate “Certain Woman” so much is that I have had my own “issue” for now 41 days!  I can’t even imagine dealing with this for 12 years. I mean “Certain Woman” had no Advil, chocolate, or potato chips.  Perhaps she had her own pillar of salt that may make up for the chips – but no Advil?  And worse — no modern day sanitary protection (i.e. tampons.) ?

Mark says how she “suffered many things of many physicians and spent all she had” and I have been whining about the ultrasound (truly yucky) and my insurance co-pay’s.  Seriously “Certain Woman” had a reason to whine.  And me?  Okay – so I feel like I have reason to whine too – BUT definitely not as much as her.

What I really need from “Certain Woman” is a dose of her faith.  Because for the last 3 weeks I have waken in the morning and thought “is today the day it stops” only later to ponder whether I should be buying stock in Platex.  Did “Certain Woman” wake up every morning for 12 years and say “is today the day?”  or “will this treatment work?” or “will I ever have babies?”  Then there was the physical toll it was taking on her body and the extreme exhaustion she probably felt every single day.

“Certain Woman” had heard about Jesus.  She believed before she even met him.  After so much time, and so many doctors, she knew this was it.  This was her answer.  Mark says she came from behind in the crowd.  No doubt “Certain Woman” was considered unclean during this period in history, so her self esteem must have taken a beating too.  But she dared to reach out.  She reached out to touch the Saviors clothes.  Just his clothes!  In her mind, perhaps it was too much of her to ask the Savior of all mankind to pay attention to her petty little “issue” and she knew just to touch – not even HIM – but his clothes and it would be enough.  And she was right — it was enough!  She felt her body heal.  I’m sure she just wanted to slink back into the background, go home, sell her Playtex stock, thank Heavenly Father privately, and go about her life.  But Jesus knew immediately that someone had been healed and he asked.  I’m sure she was embarrassed and scared as it said she trembled and feared but she fell down at his feet and told him the truth.  He didn’t reprimand her, he didn’t even call her “certain woman” or “hey you”.  He called tenderly called her “daughter” assured her of our own faith and sent her in peace.

Yes I need a bit Certain Woman’s faith.  I have no doubt my current “issue” will cease eventually.  But what about all my other issues?  How often do I hold them to myself and refuse to reach out to the Savior and let Him heal me?  No doubt I am more than that “certain woman” to him — am I not also his daughter?

5 responses to “And I Thought I Had “Issues”!

  1. Tiffany says:

    Somehow this particular scripture story escaped me. I don’t know how you manage to make me smile and tug my heart at the same time. I hope your “issue” resolves soon.

    And in the mean time, I think you should have a big steak–you need some iron!

  2. Laurel says:

    This, my dear, is writing perfection. I love it.
    And I love this story. I love that He knew power had left Him. I love that he tenderly called her out.
    I LOVE HER FAITH.

    and I love you, my dear.
    You’re in my prayers.

  3. girlwhoknits says:

    What a great reminder about faith. It is hard, especially when we have cause to be upset and struggle. Hang in there DeAnn. Wish I could be there to give you a big hug.

  4. Heather says:

    Gosh I so understand, I have a similar issue. I hope you get the relief you deserve, and soon.
    I have read that scripture before but have never read that deeply into. Wow that puts a few things in perspective.

  5. TentTrash says:

    Chin up Anita! All will be well. I have a cheer-me-up prize for you!

Leave a Reply

