Birthday Ramblings . . .

on August 6, 2008

In the last two weeks I’ve had a bajillion ideas for blogging. They come to me in this brilliant flashes of inspiration. By the time I got to my computer my brilliant flash had fizzled out to nothingness as I lay my head on my keyboard to snore and drool. But I would be amiss if I didn’t blog about my birthday.

Did you know I had a birthday? Really – you didn’t? That’s right – I tend to keep those things to myself. But honestly I had a great birthday (July 17th if you want to note that in your 2009 calendar.) A couple days before my birthday I went to dinner with 3 amazing friends. One of them (at the insistence of her daughter) got me this super cool cowboy hat. Seriously – how cute am I?

My birthday started with a card from my mom. It’s a great card. She gives it to me every year — yes the same card. A couple days later she tucks it away for the next year. It’s become a little bit of a family joke but mostly now it’s a tradition that makes me smile. I took the day off from work and hiked up to Timpanogos cave. I’d never been before and always wanted to. It felt amazing to hike. The path was paved but steep at parts. This is me after making it to the top.

I also took myself out to lunch.

I spent the evening with amazing friends in the mountains. We had a wickedly delicious dinner. Mostly I just basked in the cool mountain air and the warmth of friends who go above and beyond to show their love and support.

All in all it was a bless-ed birthday!

3 responses to “Birthday Ramblings . . .

  1. Heather says:

    I love the hat, I totally want one. Or at least a tiara. 😉 But the hat is totally you!

  2. Erin says:

    You are totally rocking the cowboy hat. Wish I could have been there.

  3. Laurel says:

    FINALLY! THE BIRTHDAY BLOG!!
    You are a treasure, De. I love your birthdays…almost more than mine. Almost.

Leave a Reply

