The Goal

on August 18, 2008

Sometimes it seems like it should be so easy. Set a goal, make the plan, work the plan, reach the goal. Four easy steps! But it seems for me that it’s more like Set the goal, make the plan, do things that aren’t on the plan that take me away from the goal, feel bad about it, recommit to the plan, work the plan – for a bit, ahhh but once won’t hurt because I won’t really be off the plan, screw the plan!!!! Augh! Why did I do that? Review the plan, wonder if I have it in me to attain the goal, search for inspiration, doubt myself, wonder if God doubts me too, review goal, recommit to plan, and so on and so on.

Maybe it’s idealistic and unrealistic to think that achieving a major goal is done in 4 easy steps, especially when the goal is about changing not only behaviors but inner ways of thinking and coping with life’s little bumps and bruises. My goal you ask? It’s not a big surprise – I want to achieve my healthy weight and size and maintain a healthy lifestyle. More and more I feel the importance of making this happen. It’s one of the challenges I need to overcome in this life – I guess how I need to overcome the “natural (wo)man.” I recently have had some health issues that I suspect will improve with a healthier weight. Mostly – I know that the weight is preventing me from being and doing all that the Lord has for me to do. Not because I’m not capable, but because the weight limits my abilities, opportunities, and confidence. So I’m putting my goal out there – for all to see – yes all 3 people who may on occasion actually read my blog. My goal is to lose 40 pounds by the end of the year. I need your inspiration, your encouragement, and anything you may have to offer to help me move forward. I too will be searching for the inspiration and will post it as I find it. Can you help me? In the next four months can you drop me an email (deann dot hansen at gmail dot com) once a week to help keep me going? I guess what I am saying dear friends, or anyone else for that matter, is I need you. Gulp – I guess that wasn’t so hard to ask for as I thought it would be.

3 responses to “The Goal

  1. Laurel says:

    not only WILL I help you, but I’m doing it with you and I can’t wait to connect on this for real.

    You are an inspiration, DeAnn…in a HUNDRED different ways. But lately (and right now), I appreciate your courage and your honesty.

    Let’s do it.

    I’m in!

  2. Erin says:

    I will be there! Gooooooo DeAnn!!!

    You can DO this.

  3. Natalie says:

    I am so proud of you. I’ll check in with you every week.

    Oh, get this, I am down to a size 14.

Leave a Reply

