How to Fall

on October 9, 2008

I hate to use this blog as blatant self promotion (yea – whatever) but I have felt pretty good about the path I’ve been on to achieve some of my health and fitness goals. I’ve had some days where I didn’t make the best choices but compared to the past I’ve been able to get back on track fairly quickly. I’ve been pretty pleased with myself because honestly — plain and simple – it’s just hard sometimes. I’ve been thinking what I could do differently when I feel myself falling of track. The simple answer is — don’t do it. But that is easier said than done.

Today was one of those days when I could feel myself falling. The morning started out stressful as soon as I walked in the door at work. Each passing hour added another problem or reminder of a project I haven’t finished. I was seriously jonesin for some of my drug o’ choice — a sweet gooey chocolately treat. So of course – I virtuously got out my baby carrots and V8 and nibbled ever so delicately like a proper lady — sheesh! Whatever! The truth is I started with a couple sugar free cookies . . .

. . . . . . still Fa

ll

ing!

Then an apple!

. . . . . . still f

a

l

l

i

n

g!

Must stop! Must think of other things! Must relax! Must have CHOCOLATE! So I have some dark chocolate. I put it all in my food journal. I breathe deep, do more work, talk myself off the ledge. I have a healthy lunch and choose something lower in calories than I had previously planned. I do some more work. I go to a meeting. I want a treat. Not a !@#$ apple. I weigh my options. I ask myself the magic question “If I stop for an ice cream, or a cookie, or some candy, how will I feel in a half an hour?” I still want a treat – but I decide I don’t want to feel completely miserable. I stop at Maverick for a small fat free frozen yogurt cone. It does the trick – for now.

I’d been falling all day – I could feel it – I’ve done it before – fallen out of my groove only to land face down on the sidewalk left emotionally bloody and broken and doubting whether I would ever be able to reach my goals. But today – despite it’s imperfections was still good because I think I’m learning how to fall – and survive it.

Tonight I Googled “how to fall”. I found some interesting things. For instance I learned how to fall in stiletto high hills, complete with the following illustration.

I also learned how to fall out of an airplane, how to fall asleep, and how to fall off a skateboard. But I also found the best advice at Wikepedia. I thought it had some good suggestions that I could use even when what is falling isn’t actually my body.

  1. Slow Down Your Fall
  2. Find the Best Landing Spot and Steer Yourself There
  3. Bend your Knees, Relax, and Try to Land Feet First
  4. Try to Roll
  5. Protect Your Head
  6. Get Help Immediately

All in all today I think I landed okay.

4 responses to “How to Fall

  1. Tasha says:

    yep, still being that angel. if i had been with you i would have steered ya to the big chocolate covered carmel apple. just so i could say i had a fruit for a snack.

  2. Erin says:

    ohhhh, good post. I love this. Congrats to you for a safe landing.

  3. Heather says:

    You reminded me of an email the University sent out about falling in ice and snow conditions on campus and how to lessen your injuries. I laughed out loud when I read it. Especially the second one on this list.
    “When these helpful hints don’t work, and you know you are going to slip, try to reduce your potential injury when falling by:

    1. Roll with the fall. Try to twist and roll backwards, rather than falling forward.

    2. Relax as much as possible when you begin to fall.”

    Yeah right! Very few of us are trained stuntwomen, our first thought is not “Oh wow, I’m going to fall, I should relax and enjoy it!”

    Back to the point, I’m glad you survived. Some days are rougher than others. 🙂

  4. Vanessa says:

    Your writing speaks to the soul of every woman. I totally struggle with the same thing. And when I’m about to fall I just imagine that I’m Lara Croft Tomb Raider, whose focus and discipline is impervious to any distraction or influence. Or that I’m a Jedi Knight that always makes the right choices. Seriously. I’m waaay too much a nerd.

Leave a Reply

