A Weak Week with Hope on the Horizon

on October 18, 2008

It’s been a week!  You know – one of those weeks.  A week when there is too much to do and not enough time to do it.  A week where you kill yourself for your job – you know – do more with less – and willingly do so because you believe that what you do matters only to get to the end of the week and feel like you get less and less in return.  A week where you exercise hard and eat healthy only to go to Weight Watchers and see a 2 pound gain on their @#$@%# scales.  A week where you just wonder what you are doing wrong because God’s promises feel so far away.  A week where you wonder – just wonder if you are anywhere close to being “good enough”!  A week where you just want to pick your toys up and go home!  Yes – it’s been a week! A really weak week.

I’ve been reading the book Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I love her style of writing and her incredible descriptions.  In one part of her musings she says that everyone has a word that describes who they are.  I’ve been thinking about what my word would be.  Would it be “grace” because I realize I am nothing with Christ’s enabling power?  Would it be “odd” because – well – I am odd (in the most endearing way of course.)  Would it be “obsessive” or “plump” or “funny” or “kind”?  How about “compassionate”, “alone”, or “messy”?  All of these words do describe me in one way.  What would my word be?  I’m not sure.  But I know what I want it to be.  I want it to be hope!

I love that word.  I want to be that word.  A couple years ago I tried to figure out “hope”.  Was it the same as faith?  Which comes first – hope or faith?  I still don’t know the answer to that (if there is one) but I do know that hope goes hand in hand with faith.  Elder Groberg said “As near as I can tell, hope is light. It is a light within us that pierces the darkness of doubt and discouragement and taps into the light (hope) of all creation—even the Savior.”  It is hope that lets me pick my little self up and go on.

It is hope that helps me go on and through even difficult challenges.  I love this quote by Marvin J Ashton, “My message to you this day is take up your cross. Take yourself the way you are and lift yourself in the direction of the better. Regardless of where you have been, what you have done, or what you haven’t done, trust God, believe on him, relate to him, worship him as you carry your cross with dignity and determination.”

Hope IS taking things as they are and moving with dignity and determination — even when it’s not fair.  I think that even if “hope” is not yet my word I want to I live as if it were.

4 responses to “A Weak Week with Hope on the Horizon

  1. girlwhoknits says:

    I have had the same kind of week DeAnn. It has been just…hard. I keep forgetting about hope. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Laurel says:

    me too. me too.
    And LOVE hope for you. It IS you.

  3. Heather says:

    You are just awesome DeAnn. 🙂

  4. Tasha says:

    my word for you inspiration! You have always been that for me. ALWAYS!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

