Paths Crossed

on October 31, 2008

“No love, no friendship Can cross the path of our destiny Without leaving some mark on it forever.” — Muriac, Francois

I had some fantastic friends in high school.  I look back and see how incredibly blessed I was because in my group of friends, being “good” was cool.  Plus we had endless crazy fun.  These friends saved me and I’m sure they never knew it.   I hadn’t even begun to realize all my issues but these incredible people thought the best of me (or if they thought the worst they gratefully never told me.)

Today I went to lunch with 2 of these friends.  Thanks to facebook I have met up with them again after 20-something years.  It’s hard to catch up on 20 years in an hour at Applebees – but we tried to anyway.  As I listened to Gen tell me how she met her husband and Heide talk about her kids I sat back in amazement for just a moment as I realized that I feel just the same about them now as I did when I needed them so much  so many years ago.  I also realized that those 2 wonderful teenage friends grew up to be amazing and good women.  I wonder what the teenage version of me would have thought if she could have caught a vision of todays lunch (well besides screaming “you mean you are 42 AND not married?”)  I think DeAnn of days gone by would have smiled and said “see I told you you be ‘best friends’ forever.”

Genny, Heide, and Me

Genny, Heide, and Me

2 responses to “Paths Crossed

  1. Tasha says:

    I had some pretty amazing friends in high school too! They look a lot like you and your friends! You girls look BEAUTIFUL! we were so blessed to grow up with our good friends!
    love you!
    PS You may be 42 and not married but it is totally because boys are dumb! You are Amazing, and I am not just saying that cause you have cool friends!

  2. Vanessa says:

    Hi DeAnn! I love Facebook for that reason. I’ve got in touch with a bunch of people that I thought I would never see or hear from again. I’m glad you had such a great time. You know those are true friends when you get together and you still talk and connect as easily as ever.

    I was sad that WBWG was cancelled the other week. I was really looking forward to seeing you!

Leave a Reply

