Boot Camp for My Soul

on February 23, 2009

Over the last several weeks I had felt at a standstill as far as my health and fitness were concerned.  I had still been exercising and given a half-hearted effort to eating healthy, but I was slipping back to old ways of coping with life’s little stresses – which is to eat some high fat, high sugar, and highly chocolately treat and then wallow in the guilt.  The discouragement was setting in all to frequently.

What I needed was a plain ‘ol button-gear kick!  Something that renew me – physically, mentally, and spiritually.  I had been thinking about how cool it would be if I could take a week off work and go to some fitness “boot camp”.  Even if I couldn’t afford a resort maybe I could do one for myself.  I talked to one of my friends about this idea and both agreed that taking a week of work would be hard.  But since we both needed a “fresh start” we decided that we would give ourselves a “boot camp”  anyway – even if we did have to go to work, fulfill our church assignments, and attend previously arranged social engagements.  We knew it would be hard – but we started anyway.  We set some rules for our two-week boot camp that included:

  • Get up at 5:30 a.m. and exercise.  Exercise at least once a day and when not already scheduled for something else later in the day – 2 times per day.
  • Sundays we would do light stretching or yoga.
  • Get to bed early so we could be well rested.
  • No refined sugar
  • Whole grains
  • Fruits & Veggies (lots of ’em)
  • No ice cream (even sugar free)
  • No carbonation
  • Drink lots of water
  • Keep a food journal
  • Pray with more meaning
  • Spend time in the scriptures every day.
  • Visualize my success
  • Attend the temple
  • Get a massage
  • Share scriptures and other thoughts with each other daily
  • Check in daily

We’ve been going at it for over a week now.  Some days have been easier than others but I feel good and I feel strong so this morning I thought I’d take a peek at the scale to see my success in numbers.  So before I ran out the door to the gym at 5:30 I went through my “stepping on the scale ritual” of going to the bathroom, getting naked, spitting four or five times (okay I never really spit) and then stepping ever so gently on the scale.  You will never believe how much weight I’ve lost in the last week!!!!  Zero! Yes — Zero!  For a minute the discouragement set in.  What is the point of exercising and eating healthy if I’m going to stay exactly where I am?  Just for a split second I thought about getting back in bed, but I didn’t.  I got dressed in my stunning exercise outfit (sweat pants and t-shirt) and went to the gym.  While there riding the bike I thought about what I have been doing differently that should have added up to at least some weightloss.  I have increased my resistance training, I’d been savoring and enjoying my food, I’ve eaten less high calorie foods, I’ve worked on my thinking — Why isn’t it working?  Then it dawned on me that I’d been doing all those things and although the scale hasn’t changed — I still was changing!  In going to the temple, working out, even getting a massage I had felt such a greater appreciation for this body I have.  In eating healthier I was feeling more clarity and more control.  In praying I had been striving for more strength to overcome my physical weakness and tune in more to the Spirit.  I’ve been feeling the gap between my body and spirit begin to close.  Truly this has been for my soul.

So I haven’t thrown in the towel.  I’ve remembered that hard things don’t always have immediate results and in fact they rarely have immediate results.  I’m trusting the process knowing that more than my body is being renewed and shaped.

6 responses to “Boot Camp for My Soul

  1. Becky says:

    GOOD FOR YOU!! I am so happy that you were blessed to have that insight!! I know this is where you should be going — and you are doing awesome! Thanks for being my hero!

  2. Heather says:

    You’re inspiring. 🙂

  3. DeeAnn says:

    You are an awesome woman DeAnn. I wish I lived closer so I could bask in your inspiration daily! Keep up the great work and keep blogging so I can learn from you. I miss you!

  4. Laurel says:

    there is DEFINITELY a reason it’s called SOUL boot camp. have to remember it’s more than the scale.
    xoxo

  5. girlwhoknits says:

    I am so proud of you for all you have accomplished. It is about changing yourself first–the scale will follow. Love you.

  6. Tasha says:

    Ugh it’s all my fault :o(
    Sorry!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

