Broken Things

on May 25, 2009

Sometimes I feel like God gave me this wonderful life filled with wonderful opportunities.  Then “life happened” (at a very young age) and it seems that I somehow messed up those wonderful gifts he gave me.  Like He gave me a toy and as I played with – it got broken.  Worse is that I didn’t break it all myself.  Others took my toy and did damage too – but it was still mine and somehow I allowed it.  Ashamed that I allowed something so precious to be broken I then go about trying to fix it so that when God asks for it back He won’t be mad.  So I try all kinds of super-glues but it’s never put back together perfectly.  But I keep trying in vain.  What I forget is that He knew that life was a messy business and the toys are going to get broken and that if we bring it to Him, with a gentle smile He will fix it.  What is it that keeps me from just allowing the Savior to fix it to start with? Why do I keep taking it back saying like the willful child “I can do it myself”?

It’s not a new story – in fact it dawned on me that even in the Garden of Eden after Eve and then Adam took the fruit the first thing they did when God came was to hide.  I figured out that it was Satan who introduced shame into the world.  The kind of shame that makes you want to hide instead of sorrow that makes you want to go to your Father for healing.  We are funny human creatures – because instead of telling Adam and Eve to hide the scriptures tell us that God made coats of skins to cover them.  He didn’t say “I’m coming you better grab some leaves and hide from me because boy you are in trou-ble!”  That wasn’t God’s message at all – more like the message of someone who would rather have us stay broken (“hmmmm who could that be?  Could it be Satan?”) – The Lord explained the consequences of the human condition and then covered them in something that would be comforting and warm.

I think the scriptures tell us to “submit” to the will of God not just because it will teach us a good lesson about being humble, but also because the Savior has so much love, compassion, and healing for us if we will let Him in.

Broken clouds give rain; …

Broken storms yield light.
The break of day heals night.
Broken pride turns blindness into sight …

Could it be that God loves broken things? …

And yet, our broken faith, our broken promises
Sent love to the cross
And still, that broken flesh, that broken heart of His,
Offers us such grace and mercy,
Covers us with love undeserving.

This broken soul that cries for mending
This broken heart for offering
I’m convinced that God loves broken ME
Praise His name—my God loves broken things!

(Kenneth Cope)

9 responses to “Broken Things

  1. Laurel says:

    i love that beauty is found in the broken-ness.

    i love you.

  2. Erin says:

    I heard this song sung at the TOFW I went to and even though this kind of music is usually not my thing I found the words really profound. Beautiful post.

  3. DeeAnn says:

    Okay, why are you not writing books? I sat here and cried as I read this latest post. You are too profound and your words HELP people like me! Thanks you my friend and please, please, please start a book today!

    Love you!

  4. Cassidi says:

    Can we be co-dependent on ourselves? Beautifully said. Every time I turn around I am amazed again at the expansiveness and miracle that is the atonement.

  5. Tasha says:

    I love you!
    I hope one day I get to the point where I feel worthy enough!

  6. Nonika Jorgensen says:

    Thank you so much. This was exactly what I needed in this time in my life. I have messed up so badly and yet, I can still find hope in the fact that my Father in Heaven is so willing to fix me again, as long as reach out to the hand that is reaching out for me!!

  7. Nonika Jorgensen says:

    Thank you so much. This was exactly what I needed in this time in my life. I have messed up so badly and yet, I can still find hope in the fact that my Father in Heaven is so willing to fix me again, as long as I reach out to the hand that is reaching out for me!!

  8. Dal says:

    it’s a bullet proof system, he more than loves , he serves us.

Leave a Reply

