My Secret Recipe

on July 2, 2009

I have been going to Girls Camp for years!  Anyone who has been to camp with me will testify that the one thing that is a must (besides extra underwear) is Candy Casserole.  Everyone loves, loves, loves my candy casserole and up until now the recipe has been a secret.  There are several variations but I shall share the most basic recipe.

Gather all the ingredients and a rather large sized bowl.  You will also need a wooden spoon.  I choose a wooden spoon because I feel that it is a little more gentle with the tender ingredients than a metal spoon,or heaven forbid, a wisk.

June 09 167

June 09 165

Ingredients:
Tootsie Rolls
Licorice Bites
Plain M&M’s
Starbursts (Skittles can easily be used as a substitute)
Peanut Butter M&M’s (THIS is the secret ingredient)  DO NOT substitute Peanut M&M’s as it will change the texture of the finished product.

You can also add other ingredients such as Teddy Grahams, Good N’ Plenty, or Hot Tamale’s.  I learned by sad experience to avoid any of the “gummy” type candy’s as they leave the finished product a sticky goopy mess.

Begin by pouring the Tootsie Rolls into the bowl.  Do NOT stir at this point.  You want the Tootsie Rolls to be able to rest for a minute.

June 09 168

Add all other ingredients except for the Peanut Butter M&M’s.  Gently stir the mixture together.

June 09 169

June 09 171

Now add the Peanut Butter M&M’s and gently fold them in.  I prefer folding the mixture to avoid bruising the delicate chocolate layer of the PBM&M and I suggest that you also use this method.

June 09 175

The casserole is now finished and ready to transfer in to you official “Candy Casserole” jar.  I prefer to sample the Candy Casserole at this stage to make sure the flavors are at their peak.  It would be appropriate to sample each flavor.

Transfer your casserole into an airtight plastic container.

June 09 178

June 09 179

You are now ready to enjoy girls camp!

7 responses to “My Secret Recipe

  1. Vanessa says:

    How did you get to be so cool? Thanks for the tutorial. We have Girls Camp at the beginning of next month! This recipe is SURE to make me popular!

  2. Laurel says:

    i love that this was suddenly like a complex food network demo. YOU CRACK ME UP!

    xoxo

  3. Ali Mae says:

    Seriously, D, you are the funniest… Thanks for the amazing recipe and accompanying instructions. I’ll give it a try but I know yours will always come out better than mine. You just have that magic touch.

  4. Erin says:

    You know, I wouldn’t have thought I would need a step-by-step guide to learn to make the candy casserole but you have made me a believer. Case in point, I never would have folded in the peanut butter m&ms. I really am an amateur.

  5. Heide says:

    What a great recipe, however I do believe you are using plain m & m’s not peanut butter. Is this something you do regularly or do you always us peanut butter?

    You are so great I love you!!

  6. Joyce says:

    How fun! You really are very clever with all of the great and wonderful idea’s and things you come up with! I bet everyone at girls camp will miss you very much.

  7. […] a luncheon afterward, but only serve Candy Casserole. Then all my nieces and nephews should have a mixture of Root beer, Diet Coke, and Cherry 7-Up in […]

Leave a Reply

