I Love My Non-Existent Family

on November 30, 2009

Driving home from work the other night it dawned on me that had I gotten married and had children when I was in m early twenties — I would be getting more Christmas presents.  The small child in my decided that this was NOT FAIR.  So I have officially decided (as opposed to unofficially deciding) that my non-existent family should be getting me Christmas presents this year.

I have discovered that my non-existent family is not good at keeping surprises.  For example my non-existent oldest daughter who is now in cosmetology school just bought me a nice new flat iron for Christmas.  She couldn’t wait for Christmas day and insisted I begin using it immediately.  She’s so cute that way.

I know it’s suppose to be a secret, but I believe my non-existent husband is going to get me a Wii and Wii-fit for Christmas.  Shhhhh.  Don’t let on that I suspect.

I’m not yet sure how many children I have but will keep you posted as the presents roll in.

10 responses to “I Love My Non-Existent Family

  1. Red says:

    I LOVE your non-existant family. Mine got me those same things… only they may have surprised me a few months ago, so they’ve forgotten and well… they’re out shopping for me again. We have the best non-existant husbands and kids EVER!

  2. Erin says:

    I love this idea. My sister and I give each other “spouse” gifts.

  3. Christen says:

    Love this idea. 🙂 I’m very excited for you to get a Wii and Wii Fit. SO much fun.

  4. Laurel says:

    it’s about time!

    and don’t forget the “non-existent inlaws”. I bet they REALLY owe you this year.

    plus, isn’t your hubby the bishop? The gifts should be rolling in from the WHOLE WARD!!

  5. Heide says:

    I love that I can come here and laugh when I need a pick me up. Thanks my dear!!!

    oh BTW my real hubby got me a Wii and Wii Fit for my Birthday and I love it!!!

  6. Tiffany says:

    I loved everything about this post, but mostly the chart and the name “Acai.”

    I wuv you!

  7. soul fusion says:

    hi there, found this through Tiffany’s shared items and I HAVE to comment because I LOVE this idea! I always end up buying myself a bunch of consolation presents through the holidays and for birthdays and I think your logic is my new rationale.
    Also, I just finished describing to a co-worker someone I am working with on a deal for work named Kip (tall, thin, attractive and super eager and upbeat). I’m going to assume he’s your husband and I must say, he’s a really nice guy!

  8. Cassidi says:

    You are so funny! Can I come over and play your Wii? Adam won’t buy any gaming system over $50. Hello! They don’t make Atari anymore!

  9. […] Joy in the Journey I Love My Non-Existent Family […]

  10. […] that I will not have children to plan a funeral for me when “my time comes” and my “non-existent family” definitely can’t be counted on for this event. With this in mind I decided I needed to plan my […]

Leave a Reply

