Christmas Gifts

on December 28, 2009

Christmas was great this year with my Non-Existant Family.  I totally scored in the gift department – thank goodness I finally acknowledged them.  Here are some of the things I received this Christmas.

From my Non-Existent Husband

Kip adores me and although he loves me “just the way I am” he wants me to be around for years.

From my Non-Existent Daughter Acai

She’s going to cosmetology school and thought I just had to have this.

From my Non-Existent Daughter Honey

Isn’t this simply adorable?

From my Non-Existent Son Kalib

His sister told him to get it – he really isn’t in to shopping.

From my Non-Existent In-Laws

We just needed one –  they are so practical that way.  Yes it’s a twin size but really Kip doesn’t take up that much room

As you can tell I was very bless-ed by my non-existent family but am having some trouble balancing my checkbook with all these mysterious charges.

Last Monday was the family Christmas Party.  This is the party with my brothers, sister, and their families.  It’s always so much fun and I try to bring something for the kids to completely annoy their parents as well as some kind of treat to get them totally hyped up on sugar.  It was a smashing success as this year they belted each other with the giant balloon hands I got.

After the party was over and I was getting ready to leave my 3 nieces Clarissa, Camille and Cheyenne presented me with their gift.  It was a DVD that contained a slide show with pictures of their family and myself with the song “You Make Me Smile” playing in the background.  I sat there and cried as I felt an overwhelming feeling of gratitude come over me.  When the DVD was done one of them said “let your non-existent children compete with that.”  The truth is — they can’t – the things that I don’t have – and maybe even had hoped for,  can in no way compete with the incredible joys I have right now.  Mostly found in the people that I love – and who love me.

4 responses to “Christmas Gifts

  1. Laurel says:

    thanks for reminding me tonight how much joy there is in this life of ours.

    i adore your nonexistent family. But, really, with or without Kip, you deserve a bigger bed (grin).

    xoxo

  2. Vanessa says:

    My heart just melted into a little puddle. I love how awesomely tender your heart is.

  3. Red says:

    I love your nieces. Love, love, love.

  4. Cassidi says:

    Those girls are awesome! I’m sure some of it is from their parents, but most of it rubbed off from you!

Leave a Reply

