Here’s to a Fabulous Old YOU!

on January 2, 2010

I admit it, I’m a sucker for magazines.   Not just any magazine – I actually only read a few.  I love the Womens World.  It’s not smutty and on EVERY cover it has a diet AND an evil decadent dessert.  Best of all – all the articles are very short – perfect for errr – ummmm – short sittings.

I did notice in the grocery store the past couple of days so many of the covers have in big pink or yellow words something like “Here’s to the New YOU.’  In fact I just got in the mail my copy of Health magazine which I normally wouldn’t have a subscription to – but thanks to Delta frequent flyer miles — I do (did you know you can get free magazine subscriptions with your frequent flyer miles?)  On the cover in pink letters are the words Fabulous New You! Suddenly I felt a little bit of defensiveness creep in to my phsyche and thought “hey what was so wrong with the old me?”

Now I love a “new beginning”, I really do.  I love that after the craziness of working retail during the holidays, that January comes with all kinds of promise.  I love cleaning the slate.  I love Spring for the same reason.  It’s fresh and clean and new.  I have loved the thought of a complete “life makeover” at times and usually end up at the salon telling Jaime’ just to do whatever he wants with my hair and wishing he did lipsuction on the side.  I will not lie – I’ve set new goals for myself and recommitted to old ones in the past couple of days.  But what about the “old me”?

I wish I knew a catchy phrase to put on the cover of my magazine that summed up “Here’s To An Ever Changing, Sometimes Going Forward, Sometimes Going Back, Always Learning, Older Than Last Year But Still Newer Than Next Year Fabulous YOU!”

I think I will like the “new me” but honestly – the “old me” got me here for good or bad.  So thank you “old me” for the incredible time we had together this last year.  Thank you for the sorrows that made me reach out to God.  Thank you for having friends that were often answers to prayers.  Thank you for having family including a sister that is my friend and nieces and nephews who I adore.  Thank you for discovering the joys of really good quality dark chocolate.  Thank you for reading your scriptures and writing in your journal.  Thank you for exercising.  Thank you Old YOU.

4 responses to “Here’s to a Fabulous Old YOU!

  1. Laurel says:

    oh, how I love you…old and otherwise!
    xoxo

  2. Laurel says:

    (i meant “the old you” and otherwise…you know what I meant… 😉

  3. Erin says:

    Love this post. I love the old you and am pretty sure I will love the new you too!

    Happy New Year!

  4. B. says:

    This really should be a chapter in your upcoming book!
    I enjoyed your entry!

Leave a Reply

