A Winters Jaunt!

on January 26, 2010
“A little sea-bathing would set me up for ever”
(Mrs. Bennett – Pride & Prejudice)

There is nothing like escaping for a couple of days in the bleak winter to a land of sunshine.   This was my plan and I boarded the plane to Southern California on Thursday morning.

My soul was in need of much rejuvenation and grateful to find that in the hug of my dear friend and her family in sunny (er rainy, snowy, cold) California.  DeeAnn (not to be confused with myself) was a missionary companion of mine.  She was a gift to me then.  I am convinced Heavenly Father hand-picked her for me 20 years ago and when I saw her at the airport I felt He had hand-picked her for me again as place of respite for 3 days.

Here are the things I loved about my little jaunt:

I fell in love with this chair — I wanted to take it home but it wouldn’t fit in my suitcase

Thursday was a very rainy day — not a good day for site seeing or shopping – but a perfect day for watching an entire mini-series . . .

I adored this show.  If you have not seen the Masterpiece Theater’s Little Dorrit, it is a MUST SEE.

I also got to spend time with my new friend Lucy, who is so cute I wanted to put her in my pocket.  I wish I would have written down all the adorable things she said, and how could I not melt when she whispered to me on the way to the airport to come home “DeAnn, I am going to miss you sooo much.”

Jim is DeeAnn’s husband.  He’s a good man and I’m so glad DeeAnn has him.  He is funny, a tease, a great breakfast cook, and a good dad.

I can’t forget my trip to Trader Joes . . .

or seeing Orange trees for the first time . . .

But the highlight for me of course was a sunny day at the beach (thankfully it stopped raining on Saturday)

I was overwhelmed with peace and awe at the power of the waves and the sweet knowledge that one word from the Savior and they could be still.

After I was pryed away from the ocean (okay so i was soaking wet, the sun had gone down, and it was freezing) we went for the most amazing halibut at Andria’s

We went to church on Sunday.  I even went to a real Sunday School class (as opposed to the “foyer class” that I usually go to.)

It wasn’t long after that that I was on the airplane heading for home.

“These friendships are not friendships of initiation, but of resumption.”

Neal A. Maxwell

4 responses to “A Winters Jaunt!

  1. Erin says:

    Little Dorrit is the BEST! I love it too. So glad your trip was wonderful. It looks like you had the best time.

  2. Laurel says:

    i love that you did this.
    it’s going to be a good year for you De…i feel it.

  3. Angie says:

    I’m SO pleased you were able to get away, and that the sun came out.. and that you found some peace and rest that you needed.

    Love you!

  4. DeeAnn says:

    We miss you SOOOOOO much. Lucy talks about you coming again every day!

    I went VTing yesterday and one of my ladies told me about another great mini-series. It is call North and South (not to be confused with the Civil War one…this one is set in Englad). She let me borrow it and I watched the whole thing yesterday! Ya gotta see it!

Leave a Reply

