Promise to My Body

on May 12, 2010

I recognize that hunger is the way my body tells me it needs fuel.

I commit to honor this message and feed my body foods that nourish me.

I will no longer give my body a reason to distrust me by tricking it into “thinking” it’s full when I have not given it proper fuel.

I will eat until my body signals that it is satisfied and then I will stop. I will continue to “tune in” and refine my ability to hear and understand these signals.

I have come to learn that sometimes my heart is hungry and that for years I have treated this emotional hunger the same as physical hunger.

I will respect this “heart hunger” because it is also giving my body and mind a message that something within myself needs care.

I will not use food to care for “heart hunger” or other emotional needs because food is not the nourishment my soul needs for that type of hunger.

I give myself permission to enjoy the foods I love.  When I crave a “play food” or something delicious I am free to eat it.  I will enjoy it.  I will savor it.  When the enjoyment fades or my stomach is full, I will stop.  There is no need to make sure I get it all in today – because it’s always available to me.

Because I honor my body I will exercise to make it strong and function optimally.  I will find activities that are fun, satisfying, and at times challenge me to push myself.  I will enjoy the satisfaction of doing hard things.

I commit to say respectful things about my body, mentally and aloud.  My body is an incredible gift from God and I love and respect the things He has created.

When I don’t live up to all these expectations, I will be gentle, kind, and forgiving with myself.  I won’t worry about “starting again tomorrow” because I already know it is part of the process.

“She packed up her potential and all she had learned, grabbed a cute pair of shoes, and headed out to change a few things.”

(Curly Girl)

3 responses to “Promise to My Body

  1. Laurel says:

    a.) i’m stealing that quote
    b.) i’m grateful for your journey
    c.) because it makes me grateful for mine.

    xoxo

  2. girlwhoknits says:

    I love the concept of your heart being hungry. So insightful. Thank you for sharing.

  3. DeeAnn says:

    Now if you could just tell me how to feed a hungry heart with something other than food…..

Leave a Reply

