Perfectly Normal

on May 27, 2011

“Normal day,let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in the quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.”

( Mary Jean Irion -writer, poet)

I thought when I turned 40 I would freak out.  But I didn’t.  In fact . . . I loved 40!  Life got better — really really better. Who knew?  Now five years have passed and I’m staring 45 in the eye.  Life IS still good.  But I’m also ashamed to say that doubts have crept in.  Thoughts such as “is this all you are doing with your life?”  find their way in as well as comparisons to others who seem more “put together”, successful, or contributed more to the world.   I know comparisons are a dangerous ground to tread on and I generally try to avoid it all together.  But I admit — it’s been harder to do that lately.

Have I too much been setting my sites on the elusive “perfect tomorrow” when “normal today” is really where the treasure is?  Life is made up of all this little bits.   Some bits are happy like:

  • Phone calls from a niece who just wants to talk
  • Running into a friend I haven’t seen in years and chatting like no time has passed.
  • Giving kids candy in church even though you know their mom’s probably don’t appreciate it.
  • Kneeling down and praying with my mother every Sunday after Church.
  • Finding a really good bargain on my favorite expensive make-up.
  • A new purse (even if I just got one 2 months ago)
  • Realizing my lips are perfectly shaped and too bad there isn’t some man appreciate that more closely
  • Looking around my office at my mannequin by the window and my teeny-tiny “friends” under my monitor and hoping one day I’m not the subject of a TLC series called “Women Who Collect Mannequins and Teeny-Tiny People”.
  • Praying for friends who carry bigger burdens than I do.
  • Realizing that I’m slowly morphing into my mother and being okay with that.

Life is also made up of “dumb” bits.  Things like:

  • Meetings that are way too long.
  • Pineapples I waited too long to cut and now just smell bad.
  • Co-workers who ask the same question over and over and over again.
  • Sore throats
  • Messy cars
  • Co-workers who ask the same question over and over and over again.
  • Short checkout lines that are actually longer.
  • Grumpy people

It’s these bits of joy, frustration, laughter, and even stupidity that make my normal today absolutely perfect.

I do have goals and many things to look forward to.  But  I hope I don’t lose my “normal todays” to a future that hasn’t happened  yet.

4 responses to “Perfectly Normal

  1. girlwhoknits says:

    A really great insight De. It really is important to love and appreciate our life now.

  2. Clarissa says:

    I could help you pick out a new pineapple. 😉

  3. Laurel says:

    normal days.
    thanks for the reminder.
    xoxo

  4. Cassidi says:

    I know it’s cheesy but it reminds me of the old saying — Yesterday is the past, tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a blessing, that’s why it’s called the “present”.

Leave a Reply

