Fitness Ridge BL Resort Part 1

on July 11, 2012

It began Sunday afternoon.  We arrived at Fitness Ridge close to 3-ish.  It was my vacation and there I was!   I had a whole week of adventure ahead and I really didn’t know what to expect.  Laurel had tried to prepare me.  She told me it was hard — and I believed her.  I imagined it being hard – but until the body feels what “hard” is, there really is not complete comprehension.

I sat in the orientation as they explained the daily hikes, the schedule, the meals, lectures, and their expectations, my head was swimming.  The schedule seemed insane and I didn’t know that my body could actually do it for a full day let alone a full week.  And then to do all that on 1500 calories a day WITH NO DIET COKE???  And I had PAID MONEY FOR THIS?  And yet I was at peace.  I knew I was exactly where I needed to be doing what I needed to do.  I prayed this experience would change something in me.  I felt hope growing in me the last little while and this was a good place to plant that seed and see what would grow.

Monday morning came fast.  I set the alarm for 5:30 am because I wanted to make sure I was ready.   We met in the Dinning Room just after 6:00 am for our snack (a hard boiled egg and an apple) and then we were divided into hiking groups.  There were 3 or 4 hiking guides in each van and they would assess our hiking ability and put us in hiking groups for the remainder of the week.  Our van went on the Temple Quarry trail.   I was a slower hiker in the group and I was completely okay with it.  It had some challenging spots but mostly was enjoyable and I enjoyed the scenery.

Usually when I go hiking – that’s my exercise for the day.  And after that first hike I felt “done” and couldn’t really believe I had more exercise to do that day.  I was grateful for breakfast and I was even more grateful that we had a  lecture after that.  But following the lecture was an exercise class.  I selected the water workout even though I knew I would have another water class later that afternoon.  Lunch was a welcome sight.  It was surprisingly filling.  One of the things they do, and recommend, is to make lunch the biggest meal of the day.   We had another lecture following lunch.  My body was still sore from the morning but I was grateful for the brief reprieve.  The afternoon was filled with exercise classes – Water Aerobics, Circuit Training, and Ab Works.  Seriously?  Who does this?

I was so glad for dinner because it meant the exercise classes were over for the day.  There was another lecture but honestly I really only wanted my bed.  But I went to the lecture knowing that they would be taking roll.  They really did take roll at every class.  The day was over about 7:15 pm.  I dragged myself back to my room showered, took 4 Ibuprofen, and commiserated with Laurel about how thrashed our bodies felt.   I was so grateful there was someone there who knew exactly how I felt.

I have been so hopeful that this was going to be what I needed to get some areas of my life moving again.  But that Monday night I had no great “a-ha” moments and  no epiphanies, and still not quite sure this experience was going to do anything more than make me hurt and tired.  I wrote a short journal entry and I went to bed — and I SLEPT.

4 responses to “Fitness Ridge BL Resort Part 1

  1. Natalie says:

    So proud of you. I am looking forward to the next installment.

  2. Becky Jones says:

    I can’t wait to read more. Laurel and I found each other through blogs over a year ago and I just love her. I have had my own journey and I am excited for you to experience the life changing experience that living a healthy lifestyle will bring you. Feel free to hop by my blog if you like. http://www.beckyloses200.blogspot.com YOU can DO this hard thing!!! YEAH DeAnn!!! (I hope you don’t mind me being one of your cheerleaders along your journey.)

  3. tikenmoose says:

    Soudns awesome so far. You totally inspire me!

  4. laurel says:

    i am SO proud of you and SO GRATEFUL you were there with ME as well.
    We got this.
    We do.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

