Fitness Ridge Part 2

on July 18, 2012

After the exhaustion of my first day I awoke the next morning to discover . . . I was still tired.  I also learned that I was about to do it all over again.

Miraculously (and truly it was miraculous) I started to feel a shift inside of me.  I started to believe that there was a power in me to do what I didn’t think I could do.

Wednesday was a significant day for me.  It started with our usual morning hike.  This was to be the “stop sign” hike.   This hike got it’s name because it ends at a stop sign.  But this isn’t any stop sign.  This is a stop sign at the top of a hill.  Oh did I mention that basically the entire hike was uphill?  The trail was paved and some of it was on the road so the terrain wasn’t difficult — but did I mention it was uphill?  Most of the hike I was alone.  I put my music on and walked.  I had created a playlist on my Ipod that I called “becoming” a couple of months ago and I turned that on.  I didn’t realize how inspired I was.  I needed every song to keep me going.

I’m gonna walk a hundred miles,
I’m gonna whistle all the while,
If that’s what it takes to make me smile,
I’m gonna walk a hundred miles.

(Mindy Gledhill “Whole Wide World”)

Toward the end of the hike it got a little steeper. We were hiking in the Snow Canyon area and it was beautiful.  I loved the majesty of the mountains.  I was so grateful we had some cloud cover, but it was still hot.  My legs were tired.  I prayed for strength to keep going.  Then the lyrics from the song I was listening to rung true to my heart at that very moment.

When my world is shaking, heaven stands
When my heart is breaking
I never leave your hands

Your hands that shaped the world
Are holding me
They hold me still

(JJ Heller “Your Hands”)

I looked at the majesty of  the red mountains and realized that it was the Saviors hands that shaped that beautiful landscape, and yet HE was holding me up on a silly little hike to a stop sign.  I was reminded that Father of us all cares about the things that are important to us.  I was reminded of this again on Thursday as I hiked.  My body was so tired and I didn’t physically think I could do it.  I prayed and plead for the Lords help.  I knew that no one could hike for me.  I knew I had to do it.  I specifically asked for His grace, to do what I knew I couldn’t do for myself at that moment.  A sweet whisper came to my mind that said “I’ve already blessed you with it.”  I regained my strength and Thursdays hike ended up being very fun.

I think that after Monday I was  humbled enough that the Lord and the experience began to teach me.  My mind and heart started to open more so that I could really learn some things.  Here are some of the things I learned that are helping me:

  • When you think you can’t go one more step on the treadmill, and the trainer is really irritating to you, the Lord will put a good friend on the treadmill next to you to talk you through it and help you do the impossible.
  • When you think you can’t go the faces of those who love you and pray for you will come to your mind and help you keep going.
  • I really truly can do hard things.
  • Don’t have goal weight.  Have a goal weight range.  If you have a goal weight you only have one chance to be “right” and every other day you are wrong.
  • This works for me on calories too.
  • Eat carb’s with protein (this really has helped me)
  • Let go of the “All or Nothing” thinking.  (I have to work on this every day.)
  • Tracking food and/or calories are tools . . . they aren’t a way of life (huge “a-ha” for me.) It is to help teach you how your body needs to be fueled so you can learn to listen to your body, trust it, and nourish yourself.
  • I can exercise longer than I thought I could
  • I really can survive on less food than I thought I could.
  • The Lord answers prayers so many times through other people.  And so grateful Laurel had the inspiration to ask me to go to Fitness Ridge.
  • That it wasn’t “over” when I came home.  I feel the growth and changes still happening inside.  I haven’t had “perfect” days and am loving that I am seeing and feeling success in my imperfection.

I made it!

2 responses to “Fitness Ridge Part 2

  1. laurel says:

    i love everything about this. EVERYTHING.
    xoxo

  2. Erin says:

    I love reading your take-aways. You are amazing and an inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

