A Camping I Did Go . . .

on September 11, 2012

I had a fantastic summer.  One of the fun things I did this summer was go to girls camp (yes . . . AGAIN.) I loved it of course.  Yesterday I was asked to speak in sacrament meeting and report on camp.  Several of the Young Women were also speaking and so I knew everyone would get the whole scoop.  So what is a girl to do?  So I turned to the scriptures.  Here is the text of my talk.  It was pretty short for a talk which was just an extra treat for everyone. . . .

Since we are counseled to liken the scriptures unto ourselves, I thought I’d give you a recap of camp from the scriptures.

We left on a Tuesday morning.  Doing as they did in 2nd Nephi 5:7 And we did take our tents and whatsoever things were possible for us, and did journey in the wilderness for the space of many days

Driving up the mountain in a caravan until we finally arrived at our destination.  And it was said of us as said in  Joshua 6:11 and they came into the camp, and lodged in the camp.

Immediately we unpacked and did as was said in Mosiah 2:6 And they pitched their tents round about

Camp if a fun and exciting place.  At night we would gather together as a stake and do as is we are advised in Psalms 98:4 we make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise.

And we had so much fun that it was said as in Ezra 3:13 – for the people shouted with a loud shout, and the noise was heard afar off.  In fact I think they heard all way back home.  But really . . . what we did was follow Isaiah 23:16 and  make sweet melody, sing many songs, that thou mayest be remembered.

One of the highlights of camp – of course is the chance to hike.  Everyone was so happy starting off but by the end it was more like 1 Nephi 16:19  and being much fatigued, because of their journeying, they did suffer much for the want of food.

I of course was a little more dramatic when I finally . . . one of the very last dragged myself into camp.  I quoted Alma 60:3 saying I have suffered exceedingly great sufferings; yea, even hunger, thirst, and fatigue, and all manner of afflictions of every kind.

Later on we learned to make fires – as part of certification.  So immediately I turned to 1 Nephi 17:11 and said  I did smite two stones together that I might make fire.  But alas . . . I could not make fire with the stones – so we just used matches.  We did need to use fire safety so it would not be said of us in  Deuteronomy 32:22 that set on fire the foundations of the mountains.

 

One of the best parts of camp is of course, camp food.  Tossing my diet aside I decided that I  would follow  2nd Nephi 9:51 let your soul delight in fatness.

Truly camp food is the best food – it was like Psalms 78:25 we did eat angels’ food

And it was said throughout the camp that my special Candy Casserole was like Alma 32:42 is sweet above all that is sweet

By the end of the week we exemplified 2nd Nephi 13:24

And it shall come to pass, instead of sweet smell there shall be stink;

But we were happy to be home knowing that that night we would be in our own best and drift off to sleep thinking Proverbs 3:24 thou shalt lie down, and thy sleep shall be sweet.

Anyone who knows me knows that I love girls camp.  Not only do I love to play, laugh, get dirty, learn important skills, eat good food, and make deep and lasting friendships – I think Sister Elaine Dalton summed it up recently by saying “Camp with the most basic and simple accommodations can become a sacred place where the Spirit of the Lord is present.” And that is the real reason why I love camp.  I have seen lives change as the Spirit teaches these Young Women who they really are in a personal way – that they are His daughters and that He loves them.

You have already heard much about our wards adventures at camp.  I will say, and every ward leader that was there with us this year will agree, that we have amazing Young Women in our ward.

I want to close with a quote from Ezra Taft Benson that expresses how I feel about the Youth and Children of this ward

“For nearly six thousand years, God has held you in reserve to make your appearance in the final days before the Second Coming. Every previous gospel dispensation has drifted into apostasy, but ours will not…. God has saved for the final inning some of his strongest children, who will help bear off the kingdom triumphantly. And that is where you come in, for you are the generation that must be prepared to meet your God….” Make no mistake about it you are a marked generation.”

Leave a Reply

