The Balancing Act

on June 5, 2013

The other day I was reading a post on the “FB” from an author I admire.  She said (and I’ll paraphrase) that “perhaps it was time that we made ourselves the center of our own lives.”  There is a part of me that is tired that inwardly said “preach it sister!” But I paused and thought about it a little more.  Something just didn’t feel right.  Something was off.  I know what she was getting at, because so many of us spend so much time tending to the needs of others that we do not invest in taking care of ourselves.  But something felt wrong.

I began to have a little talk with myself (which is perfectly normal if you are the only one listening.) I reasoned — “aren’t I worth taking care of?”  The answer is “OF COURSE!”  But why did this statement feel so off to me?  Then is dawned on me. I knew something that this New York Times Best Selling author didn’t know!  I know in my heart of hearts that if I truly put Jesus Christ at the center of my life — “ALL things will work together for my good.”

This isn’t a new concept — I’ve been taught my entire life to put the Lord first.  But at times I think I confused “putting the Lord” first with putting the “to do’s” of church activity first.  I’m not saying the “to do’s” are wrong – because they aren’t.  And some “to do’s” are more important than others.  I remember lessons, some I’ve even taught, where I’ve said that you put the Lord first, others next, and yourself last and you would be happy.  There are are times when this concept is true.  I have first had experienced what it was like to lose myself in the service of God and miraculously found myself.  I’ve also had times when I’ve spent time caught up in “doing stuff” and just lost myself.

But my “A-HA” is that I think I’m figuring out is that when I really truly put Jesus Christ FIRST and put my heart in tune with His spirit . . . I can learn this beautiful dance of nurturing and caring for myself AND others.  It’s not a simple 1-2-3.  It’s also sometimes 1-3-2.

If I truly believe that I am a child of a God who loves me – then He cares for my spiritual, physical, and emotional happiness.  He can help me build a strong foundation where those needs are met.  In turn He can use me to build the same in others.

As I learn to tune-in I will know when I need my own “40 days on the mountain” to regroup and put myself in order.  But I will also know when someone needs me more than I need my sleep.  He will help me to say “no” when I need to and “yes” when I may not want to.

So now I am asking myself “isn’t it time I really put Christ at the center of my life?”  The answer is a resounding “YES”.

One response to “The Balancing Act

  1. tikenmoose says:

    Profound! Love a good inspirational message!

Leave a Reply

